Bland Cook

We were over the house of someone who cooked for us. To be polite I’d say her cooking was bland. That’s how I say it. Trying to be polite. The problem is this person tries to force you into complementing her skill.

And I do. Once, twice, but the problem is she keeps searching, digging for someone to say something nice about what is basically boiled cotton. When I can feel the urging for compliments get to me I just smiled and nod.

Most of the time.

She asked a question to get a compliment.

“Isn’t it nicely spiced?”

“Nicely spiced? Are you kidding me? You think butter is a spice.”

I wonder how long it’ll be until we get another invitation?

Leave a Reply

