The Only Recourse

A woman a few seats away is scratching lottery tickets. I can hear her mutter something. Out of the corner of my eye I see her look around. Her head turns toward me and stops.

“Hey,’ she snaps. She must know that’s the way to garner my full and complete attention. I don’t even turn to her when she continues. “What’s four times ten?” I look at her eyes to see if she’s toying with me. But no, she’s shaking the lottery ticket because she really wants the answer to “What’s four times ten?”

Oh my.

I don’t even look at her while answering, “Your IQ.”

I don’t mean to be mean but sometimes it’s the only recourse.

Leave a Reply

