Motherly Embarrassment 

When I was a kid my Mother used to like embarrassing me in public. Mainly she’d say things she’d assume a normal kid would be embarrassed by. And it did. For a while. But once you’ve heard your mother loudly call,

“Chris, do you have enough prune juice for the day?”

A few times you sort of harden.

The last time she ever did it we were in a crowded drug store. I was at one end of the aisle, she at the other with four or five people between us and many others milling about. She calls down the aisle,

“Chris, should I see if the druggist has those condoms you like?”

People in the aisle stop and look at me. In my head everyone in the store stopped. I just smile and say,

“Is it my turn for date night again, Ma?”

Leave a Reply

