On my feet

I was directing a live TV program and, as happens, shit went wrong. Almost from start to finish but, as they like to say, shit happens. I’m making adjustments on the fly I hope the crew will actually do without questioning. I may not be right, but I’m standing over you and I’m not afraid to punch you in the back of the head.

I find them knowing that helps ease the tension.

So, as stated, I’m standing for the entire show, pacing and directing. I’m doing this calmly as many people, producers, on-air talent, random crew members having their own personal hells, the show itself clamor for my attention.

Thankfully, inevitably, the shows ends. I thank everyone (I silently now despise)  and begin to leave. The technical director reaches out to shake my hand and says,

“Good job thinking on your feet.”

To which I responded,

“I had no choice. I was standing up.”

Leave a Reply

