Cat People

For no reason this crazy cat lady is going on about how you should never let your cat outside. Okay, I can listen for awhile. She has a point but, even if I agree with your position, if you start to annoy me I’m going to turn on you.

It’s my nature, I guess.

“Well,” I begin. “I see what you’re saying but I think sometimes you should leave your cat outside.”

She is flummoxed.

“No! You should never do that. You don’t do that, do you?”

“Yeah. It’s for the best really.”

“No! No! No! You can’t do that! It’s never for the best!”

“No, you’re wrong. It is for the best. He’s dead.”

2 responses to “Cat People

  1. OMG. I just buried our “outside cat” on Monday. He was mauled to death by neighbor dogs on Sunday afternoon. Our inside cat is quite healthy, happy and warm. There are no neighbor dogs in our house. He wins.

  2. Sorry to hear that. The only one we have left (middle one on the banner) started as a feral. He was interesting to socialize – I wrote a long bit about it – especially because Brutus (left) was his name and totally dominant while Nuts (right) was her name and would not allow him a moments peace. Even after eight years he still exhibits feral tendencies.

    We have some outdoor cats in the neighborhood, well, we used to. Little by little coyotes, foxes, etc. started winnowing them down. It’s tough on the streets for an outdoor cat.

Leave a Reply

