Movies!

Even though it’ll probably be some time until I’ll get another night to OD on movies what’s to stop me from watching a movie or two reporting on it (giving me a very easy post) once a month?

Nothing, that’s what.

So, without further adieu, let’s get on with the Bound & Gags movie night.

Bronson!

I know we all remember the first time we saw him filling the screen. So, without furture adieu, sit back and enjoy a cinematic trip with Bronson!

Second Sight 

Winning Girls Through Psychic Mind Control (a movie so roundly ignored I couldn’t find a poster or cover):

7 responses to “Movies!

  1. thanks for the advice!
    I was wondering if you write from beginning to end.. Im sure its different for everyone, but once you get the idea of the plot, do you work from chapter one straight through to the last page? Ive got the beginning down, but the only other part of the plot i’ve got is the one I’m most excited about, but I’m not there yet. I’d write it now, but I wonder if that would make getting there from the beginning kind of… Well if it has to end somewher einparticular, then it isn’t as free, now is it? So I don’t know…

  2. I’m hoping you’re thanking me for earlier writing advice, but, just in case you’re talking about these movies: NO!!!!!!! Don’t take those movies as ones to watch! Later I’ll be adding good movies but not this time.

    Now, with that fright out of my way, I’ll answer your questions.

    I have friends who ride my ass because it seems as if I don’t work hard but just because my desk is clean and my walls are not pocked with pushpin marks doesn’t mean I’m not organized. To a point. I get a story idea that mainly consists of a beginning and end and I follow them exactly. I have plot points throughout that I’ll follow but, if I feel I’m being lead somewhere else, I’ll take that. Sometimes it’s a dead end but I find I have to take it. I can always dump it or, many times, use it for something else (one short script came out of a scene that was dropped from another project). Either way, I learn something else about the character I may not have thought of without that exploration.

    I know people who get stuck because they slavishly follow their notes. Notes can be great for some but, from what I’ve seen over the years, when they get stuck, boy do they get stuck. I’m usually good at plowing through things. Not all the time but for the most part. I’m stuck on a script right now about a rock and roll serial killer mainly because 1) I have two options and I like them both. So, until one of them loosens up in my head, I’ll let it sit there and 2) work that pays is more important.

    It’s great to have a scene you love but don’t worry about it, when it is ready to drop, it will. I often write a skeleton of a scene I’m excited about just so I don’t forget any of the key elements. I find that many times subtle things change but the excitement of the scene remains.

    I’ve stopped writing a section to go somewhere deep into the piece because I know it’ll be a good guideline. The thing about writing a scene down when you’re excited about it is, when it’s time to use it, that original excitement is there. That can boost you to the end of a long, drawn out piece.

    If you have any other questions, ask and I’ll see what I, or others around here, can do.

  3. Cripes! I thought you meant CHARLES Bronson!!

  4. Yea! My joke didn’t die unscoffed!

  5. And what is it with men and pushpin-pocked walls? Why do you all hate them so much? I don’t see a problem with them.

  6. Wendy … maybe it reminds them of their complexions?

Leave a Reply

