Why I Hate

By Chris Zell

I hate because of calls like this one. This is the exact conversation as it happened less than ten minutes ago:

“Can I help you?”

“Yeah, yeah, are you talking to me?”

“Yes. May I help you?”

“Yes. I was. . .hello? Are you there?”

“Yes.”

“Oh, yeah, well, what was that sound?”

“I don’t know. Is there anything I can do for you?”

“Yes. I was wondering if you were open?”

“Yes.”

“Today?”

“Yes.”

“Oh, okay. I’ll see you in a couple of days.”

6 responses to “Why I Hate

  1. This is exactly why need to keep an airhorn next to the phone.

  2. Before letting the caller hang up, you should have informed them that you might not be open in a couple of days. And then given them the air horn blast.

  3. That’s what I love! Teamwork!

  4. That was one really sad story.

  5. I have conversations like that all the time unfortunately. I try not to participate any more than providing eye contact and nods.

    Airhorn’s a great idea, but if you don’t have one on hand coughing loudly into the phone will do.

  6. I think I like the title of this best of all!

Leave a comment