Happy

I’m sitting im the garage reading and drinking beer. Trust me, I enjoy those two activities more than you know. The only sounds are the traffic slouching behind me, muffled by my own enclosure. And birds. Birds do go on, don’t they?

At one point I finish a chapter so I take a moment to digest. Take in the thousands of words I’ve just absorbed. Let them ruminate in my fun house brain.

While staring straight ahead, thinking of nothing, just absorbing, I hear my girlfriend. She’s come to the window for some unkown reason. I can sense her looking at me, you know that feeling, until she finally calls out,

“What are you doing? You look like an idiot sitting there.”

I slowly turn my head sipping a beer along the way and respond,

“I can see why you’d be concerned. It’s been a long time since you’ve seen me happy.”

5 responses to “Happy

  1. That’s the funniest sad thing I’ve read in a long time. :) :(

  2. what were you reading?

  3. BRILLIANT !!!

  4. Wow…

  5. “Clap your hands if you feel like a room without a wall.” Naah, it’s just not the same. I’m glad you found a moment of serenity, though.

Leave a Reply

