Election Day Fun

On election day I run into one of those giddy voters. The ‘I Voted’ sticker, flag hat, red, white, and blue blazer, the expression of a true believer, pointing out ever palaver and pontification emitting from the political pundits on all the TVs.

Just American as shit!

She’s been asking everyone if they’ve voted. I’ve been avoiding eye contact. Or as it’s known, being me.

But, just like you knew it would, she came up to me.

“Did you vote today” She says all happy and shit.

“Oh,” I say. “I’m sorry. I don’t watch much TV so I’ve never seen American Idol. Are they voting again?”

Boy, it’s funny how effective my gift of changing someone’s mood is.

Leave a Reply

